Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Meanwhile ...

Once more I am forcibly struck by the contrast between our own lives - especially in a backwaterish place like Dunoon - and those lived by people elsewhere on the planet, as we listen to the news, watch images of fear, death, calamity and suffering even as the biggest thing in life - as for me today - was whether or not I had enough time to make chicken noodle soup for lunch. 

Indeed I did, and that was one of the things I did this morning, the other being to write a card for my granddaughter's birthday and take it to the post - how old-fashioned! We have arranged a shopping trip with her for Friday, which I'm looking forward to as if it was my birthday ...

In the afternoon I went out with my pal, who needed to talk. Because of this, we chose the undemanding surroundings of Benmore again - I know I'm always going there, but as I have annual membership it pays to make good use of this marvellously varied space, covering as it does level parkland and forested hillside, with the views of the surrounding hills carefully worked into the vistas. When I have a friend going through a stressful time because of the stupidity or sheer badness of other people - whom happily I don't actually know - I find myself being a sort of sounding board for providing impartial responses. (I also seethe with frustration at not being able to wade in, but that's another matter!) Our walk ended in a jolly exchange with three of the gardeners, one of whom I taught - we were reminiscing about the time she spent in my class in the 1980s and agreeing that neither of us had changed a bit ...

My collage is a small selection of the blooms and berries that attracted my attention today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.