Pausa para caju

Cashew break.

I think the Sé Cathedral is my Maputo version of King’s College in Cambridge. The go-to shot on days with limited outdoor time and needing something close by. The cathedral is only five minutes walk from where I stay.

Today, having established wifi connection and eliminated all faulty plug sockets, I was back online properly and faced with the mountain of work responsibilities. I’m usually treading a fine line of feeling grounded by being back in Maputo but completely overwhelmed with where to start on work, especially with the balance of internal and external demands. My articulation of how stretched this role is has fallen on deaf ears, and from those with decision-making responsibility I usually receive sentiments of solidarity rather than effective help. This stopped cutting it long ago. I don’t know how my employer could possibly be surprised that I am weighing up future options.

As always Megan was on hand for a pep talk from London. She said I should take a walk and send her something colourful. This was great advice for me to connect with my surroundings. I worked up a mild sweat walking in the sun, picked up a bag of cashews from a vendor, and felt somewhat reenergised. If I have to do daily cashew walks to feel refreshed, then so be it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.