Eat Out to Help Out*

I had an afternoon at Ali’s house, covering a few issues and topics that we needed to bash through. Between rainstorms there was something aesthetically pleasing about the light and the view from her balcony.

Ali is inspiring me as she’s following a keto diet to battle lockdown bulk, and I admire her discipline. I am slowly paying more attention to the idea, although it might take me a few decades to implement any changes. We went to the pub where I inadvertently only paid a fiver for a meal, as the Eat Out to Help Out* scheme is calculated automatically at the till. I’m not sure a burger counts as low carb. I did have slimline tonic with my gin, though.

*Whilst pub food is delicious, everyone loves a bargain and it’s good that the hospitality industry gets a boost, Eat Out to Help Out is a distraction technique. The British government knows it’ll satisfy us citizens to the point where we fail to scrutinise more important programmes such as, let’s say, not ending furlough payments too early, supplying adequate PPE, or ensuring transparency in exam results.

My burger was tasty and was served with the following accompaniments:
* (Window) dressing on the salad
* Onion (running) rings (around the British public)
* (The sense of being) bun (yesterday)
* (Playing) ketchup (to the democratic standards and accountability of other countries)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.