Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

A beautiful friendship

For 20 years I have been trying to kill a wisteria vine that was planted by the previous owners.   Every year I poisoned and hacked it back to ground level but it kept coming back like the Hydra.  It never flowered and honestly, they can be real pest if you let them get away.   I gave up about two years ago when a small tree I had was killed by a possum.  Yes, it ate all the new leaves in Spring over two years and the tree couldn't recover.  The little pest (the possum that is).  But I digress. 

I let the wisteria vines curl up the trunk and spread over the dead branches and lo and behold it is going to burst into flowers soon and it looks like there will be a mass of them.  I will blip it in full bloom if it turns out ok.  It seems to be happy to restrict itself to the tree and I think this may be the start of a beautiful friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.