Revisiting Birmingham.

I took a trip on the Cross City line into Birmingham this morning, 20 minutes down the line from here.
Stephen was over at St Giles Hospice near Lichfield in his rôle as a Bereavement Counsellor.
I wanted to reacquaint myself with the City after 17 months absence. I knew there were lots of new buildings and was curious to see how some of them looked.
This photo is an exhibition of different statues, each painted by an artist, for an exhibition entitled “Gratitude”.
Each piece represents an aspect of the Pandemic, or the concept of our own gratitude, however that is individually.
They will then be auctioned off and the funds are going to the “NHS Charities together.”
I took the photo as a Pano so hope it works here. https://www.wildinart.co.uk/gratitude/
I was struck by how the Pandemic has affected the shopping areas particularly, especially Grand Central. John Lewis having closed leaves a huge empty space.
Although there were people around, it wasn’t as busy as usual.
And masks are still requested (thankfully) on trains and in the station areas, not that the trains are busy either, which is why I decided to make my little visit.
I’ll use my very last extra on the fountains by the Library near the Rep theatre (which reopens in September).
Concerts at Symphony Hall resume on September 15th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.