The Bulldog at Ye Olde Bridge Inn

Isn't he magnificent? He graces the bar counter at Ye Olde Bridge Inn at Oxton, north Notts.

I'd bundled Basil into the front seat of the car and hared up the A46 hoping to find the sunflower field at Oxton. I did eventually find it, having done two circuits to find out where and also having told Google Maps that it had taken me to the wrong destination. It wasn't the wrong destination. The gate was locked because the farm had finished selling their sunflowers yesterday. Grrrrr.

We trundled across the A6097 into the village itself. Down the road, we discovered The Old Green Dragon which was apparently voted Pub of the Year in 2018-2020. It didn't open until 4.30 pm. A kind lady told us to drive on to Ye Olde Bridge Inn a bit further down the road. A traditional English country pub. The lady on duty brought me a delicious pot of tea. After I'd drunk it out on the patio, I took Basil to the field where he was able to have a good run. There were beehives in the corner.

Google reviews commend this pub for its food and friendliness. I think it can get a bit crowded at times.

Oh, and Nick came from Quingo Scooters of Luton to demonstrate a portable mobility scooter. It fitted, finally, into the back of the Yaris although it was far too heavy for me to handle. It's a nice idea. The company has patented the design of five wheels to offer safety in operation. It's sturdy but fairly compact. Nick said there were people who were less mobile than me, which was actually his mistake. I don't want to have mobility aids until I really have to. Give up walking and I really do lose the use of my legs.

But I'm rather taken with the model that can load itself into a car. Would have to get a bigger car though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.