A Little Bit of Oman

Did you notice that it rained today? Just a bit. Basil is even now, at 6.30 pm, waiting for me to take him for a walk. We both need the exercise.

It meant that I had time to sort one or two things out, I suppose. I've only just got round to taking today's blip.

When I worked in Oman in the 1990s, I used to walk along the beach at Muscat, bordering the Gulf of Oman, which is really the northern bit of the Indian Ocean. It was wonderful. Did a great deal to relieve stress.

I picked up loads of shells. This particular specimen probably belongs to the family Turritellidae, characterised by whorls and a tower form. It's faded over the years but still yields some sand grains.

Macro with focus stacking in Photoshop.

I read last night that the Sultan of Oman, Sultan Haitham who came to the throne after his predecessor, Sultan Qaboos, died earlier this year, seems to have replaced his entire cabinet. Interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.