a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Facets

It being World Photography Day, this male common darter was very keen to have his portrait taken.  So much so that he let me get this close with the 105mm macro lens.  To put that in perspective, I think that the front of the lens was within less than a foot of him.

The rest of me however, lay on the ground as I gradually crawled towards him inch by inch on my belly, across the recently laid patio.  A small ant highway had appeared, crossing from one side to the other, but I was sufficiently keen to get this shot that I crawled through it on my way towards the dragonfly.  I did however want to shake out my t-shirt afterwards(!)

I was hoping that he might lift his wings for me, but as it is I was pleased to get a good tight focus on his eye (which you can see if you choose to go large) and you do get to look through his wings :-)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.