a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Triad

Flower Friday: Buddleja Triad

Its been a very dull August day, in weather terms.  Warm, but with heavy grey cloud, like hiding under a duvet.  The butterflies seemed to quite like the stillness of it though, as this sample of the visitors to the buddleja demonstrate: a pair of tortoiseshells and a brimstone.

Try as I would, I couldn't get a shot of all 3 with their heads pointing to the camera lens - my butterfly wrangling skills clearly need some polishing.

The word "Triad" always conjures up, not the Chinese criminal gangs but naughty David Crosby's late '60s song about free love from his time with the Byrds:

"You want to know how it will be
Me and her or you and me
You both sit there with your long hair flowin'
Your eyes are alive, your minds are still growing


Saying to me
"What can we do now that we both love you?"
I love both of you, too
And I don't really see why can't we go on as three?


You are afraid
You're probably embarrassed, too
No one has ever, in your sweet, short life, child
Said such an outrageous thing to you, yes
Your mother's ghost stands at your shoulder
Got a face like ice, just a little colder


Saying, "You cannot do that
It breaks all the rules
Been sending you out to learn in the schools"
I still don't really see
Why can't wе go on as three? "

The Byrds ~ "Triad"

I've given you the link in case you've got the time and you've not heard this before.  I love the slinky bass line and the echoing hypnotic production.  I think this is probably one of Crosby's greatest vocal performances.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.