a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Night time

Abstract Thursday: Landscape

An urban nighttime landscape for this week's challenge.  I've deliberately chosen to hand hold this long exposure in order to add to the abstraction. 

A sunny windy day here. I chose to ride the motorbike for the 26 mile journey to the twice yearly check up with the kidney consultant.  In the sunshine it was a real joy.  Leaving aside the fun of two wheeled travel, the ease of parking a motorbike (compared with parking a car) at Southmead hospital is not to be sniffed at.

Earlier this year, after lock down started, I decided to give up the clinical trial that I was on for a drug that potentially slowed the inevitable decay of my kidneys.  On balance, after 18 months, I didn't think that the potential long term benefits  really adequately offset the immediate side effects of being on the drugs.  Interestingly, my kidney function has slightly improved since being off the pills.  It is unlikely that there is any direct correlation, but it was reassuring to find that my results have improved, whatever the reason.  It could very easily be result of the reduced stress of my not being at work, now that I have retired, even though I had effectively become part time over the final 6 months. 

Still, anything that pushes the threat of dialysis further into the future is very much to be welcomed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.