Return to the North

By Viking

Birds galore

Today began with a funeral. Our elderly neighbour passed away last week and it was his burial today. It was an interesting ‘service’! At the chapel held within the cemetery but no vicar or celebrant at all. The daughter and step son spoke and the. We left. No hymns, no songs no prayers. Interestingly if you had asked me a few years ago this is how I would have said I would want my funeral to be like. Since my youthful atheism has now ‘evolved’ :-))) into being a Christian I found it all a little sterile. But it was good to be there to say goodbye.

In the afternoon we went to a local eatery for a late lunch and the man for a walk at the adjoining nature reserve. The swallows and swift’s on the wire (in extras) are from outside the cafe but the star of the show was this bittern. Still not as sharp as I would have liked but probably the best bittern shot I’ve taken so far

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.