The kitchen garden at Dudmaston

Today F was going to a meeting for fellow enthusiasts of old clockwork trains.  He collects ones from the 1930s and they put them on railway lines and see them working on a large scale.

It usually takes place every few months and this was the first after the Lockdowns.  It happens in a village hall near Bridgnorth and I was invited along to go to Dudmaston Hall while he was there (it's not my sort of thing to stay at).

We got to Shrewsbury by-pass and the traffic was at a standstill.  After waiting for ages we took a long detour to get back onto the route.  I won't bore you with the details but there were two road closures with long detours (signing could have been better) and going wrong a couple of times meant that a one hour journey took us three! 

When F had been dropped off I went to Dudmaston Hall, a national Trust property.  By this time it was 3.45 and the grounds closed at 4.30pm which only gave me 45 minutes to look round.  I walked into the gardens there and tried to take a photo but my memory card wouldn't work.  The spare was back in the car, some distance away!

I had a walk through the woods and looked at the beautiful kitchen garden and then it was time to leave as I didn't want to be locked in.

I was early to pick F up so sat on a seat and read my book until his event was finished. At least he enjoyed himself after a difficult start to the expedition. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.