Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Out and about!

I tootled over the bridge to Fife this morning as i needed something from Dobbies. By the time I'd finished the weather was quite nice so I drove on up the motorway to the East Neuk. I hadn't been to Crail and Anstruther for at least twenty years, probably even longer. The little houses in the square by Crail Harbour are now very twee, bijou residences, I'd have taken a picture but two people were sitting in the garden of the front cottage - which is a self catering rental. They looked rather threatening so I didn't bother, they'd have spoiled the picture anyway. When our friends lived in those houses in the 1970's, as students, they were much more run down and pretty basic.
I drove on to Cellardyke and Anstruther again what had been relatively dilapidated houses are now hardly recognisable. I treated myself to a piping hot bag of very good chips, to eat sitting in the sun on the harbour wall, good chips!, and some prawns to take home for my tea. I spotted the plaque of my blip on the wall of a very grand house and garden just up the road from the harbour. A Google search this evening methinks!
I continued on my odyssey and discovered that Pittenweem is only 1.5 miles from Anstruther, who knew? We only ever went as far as Anstruther on the coast road from St Andrews then cut across country on the bus route to Leven then Kirkcaldy. Clearly we never went beyond Pittenweem either if travelling from the south!
On to St Monans, Ellie and Earlsferry and then back via Largo and Leven to the main road and home.
I've had a headache most of the day so hopefully all that fresh sea air will have helped. Forgot to mention the Janettas cherry ripple icecream from the shop by the harbour in Pittenweem, maybe not such a healthy diet after all, lol.
I popped into Ali's to drop off a couple of things on the way home. She's into countdown mode now, just a month to go.
I don't know what's going on in the world just now. I've no desire to watch the news, there's Afghanistan and those terrifying pictures of the airport and the plane loads of people, Haiti, the fires in the Mediterranean, and now our covid figures flying high once again.
Keep safe everyone, I'm really not convinced the so - called Freedom day was worth it. We didn't give such a title here, but the reduction/lifting of restrictions has had the same effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.