I went to a fascinating small photography exhibition at Dulwich Picture Gallery. 'Unearthed' traces the history of photography through depictions of nature from 1840 to now. It includes some very early photographs by Fox Talbot, exquisite cyanotypes by Anna Atkins (1799-1871), inspiring minimalist forms (see extra) by Cecilia Glaisher (1828-1892) and even some unexpected flower pictures from Robert Mapplethorpe. 

Then a blipmeet! It was great to have a photo wander with Chamaeleo - our first for about two years. I had a go at minimalist nature photography but that's going to need quite a bit more practice.

Since my bus home leaves from Marble Arch I thought I'd have a wary look at the infamous £3.36m mound, ostensibly created to lure people back to shops. I'd been told that the views from the 25m high cage at the top were worth the climb even if not worth the (currently waived) entrance fee. Nope. Nearby buildings to the north, nearby buildings to the east,  a surprisingly small Battersea Power Station and probably the Downs in the haze to the south and trees and cranes to the west. A dismal waste of public money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.