My Brilliant New Career

I acquired a new and completely unexpected identity today - I am now registered to sell scrap metal.
My predecessors in this house left behind huge quantities of rusty nails, screws, nuts, bolts, stakes, poles, wire and other hardware in the shed and I took the first haul to the relevant skip at the council recycling centre. Then my neighbour told me I could take stuff to the much nearer Metal Salvage Company - proximity being quite a bonus when the load is heavy - so a month ago Tivoli and I walked there with two backpacks-worth, including an astonishing amount of metal dug out of the soil. They were a bit surprised that I wasn't interested in money for it but I was just glad to be shot of it. Today I walked there with another load and they persuaded me to register so, from now on, every time I take them metal the value of it will be added to my credit, now proudly standing at 25p for today's 5kg. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.