The innocent gardener

A bit over two months ago I was asking blippers to confirm the identify of the little plants in my wheelbarrow (extra here) which I'd found self-seeded at my previous home and put into pots because I thought they might be tomatoes but I wasn't sure.

Two weeks after that they were much bigger and I took them out of the pots and put them into the newly-dug open soil at what seemed like absurdly airy spacing.

I found out more about tomatoes and what I was supposed to do with them and every morning after that I pinched out the shoots growing where they shouldn't and tied the new growth to the stakes before it straggled. Then during the shed-demolishing week in the middle of July I didn't have time for them and they rampaged. Since then I've gone back to checking on them every morning with string and scissors but they are beyond my control and they know it.

But isn't this whole process magic?!


A recommendation: Original Theatre Online, which put on Birdsong, acclaimed, but flawed in my view, despite the production being fascinating, have another play online. Watching Rosie is only 15 minutes long and very successfully uses lockdown communications as theme as well as medium. Free until 30 September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.