A Day with the Kids

I picked up my grandchildren around 10 this morning and we went to the new playground near my house. It was under construction for the whole time we were in shut down...opening earlier this summer. It's so much fun - it has great swings, and a super tube slide, spinning things and lots of musical outdoor instruments to play with...lots of climbing rocks and great places just to run around. We spent 1 1/2 hours there and the kids were wiped (good!). After lunch, Odette and I planted peas and lettuce in the veggie garden and she cleaned up her fairy garden. She told me that she wants to work at the botanical garden as soon as she can. I told her that by the time we get it built, she'll be old enough to (she's now 8). Then she told me she would tell her mother to donate to the garden, and that next time she came over she would bring money to donate too. So utterly sweet, and how in the world does an 8 year old know about donating money?

At any rate, a swing through the garden after dropping them off found the return of the Swallowtail (I'm sure it's only one that comes to visit periodically) and a very lush Dahlia 'Crazy Love'. Hope you've had a marvelous day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.