Windmill 'Rijn en Weert', Werkhoven

'Rijn en Weert' = 'Rhine en Weyrt'
Werkhoven is a little village.

The objective in the middle of the afternoon was Wijk bij Duurstede ('Wike by Deurstayduh'), but the clouds that were not there before were suddenly there, or on the way, and Werkhoven came first, and the windmill was visible from the main road, so that is where I ended up in.  No regrets.  Nevertheless, I still think it could use one or two coats of paint.  It was built in 1882, renovated in 1993.

There was traffic on the A27 on the way to the A12, which, I guess, is normal, but not any less irritating, and I was expecting an even longer trip going back, but, mercy of mercies, the drive back took only about half the time, despite the fact that rush hour had begun.  Clearly, people are still on summer holiday.  A fortunate thing because I did not want to be late for our dinner at Sweed's and Benna's.

We were at their place in plenty of time.  Sweed had cooked up an Indonesian meal, four courses with yellow rice, not too spicy, and so happy for the bowl of white rice for anyone who preferred that, but the yellow rice was yummy, too.  I then left them to their bridge game and picked up AW at around midnight, with the bottle of Bordeaux he'd forgotten to bring with him earlier.  I will return another time to admire their beautiful garden.  A cozy place altogether, such warm folks.

Far away, Mimi's daughter has just had COVID but is now symptom-free.  Sad thing is, the two have been having a running row and Mimi doesn't seem to know what to do.  To be honest, neither do I.  Some things are beyond outside help.

Ended the day with some gaming and the Burgundians.  During the dinner, the other bridge player, Winnie, asked me what I've been doing to fill my time, and was I not bored being unemployed.  Had a good laugh about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.