JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 233: Honeysuckle hedgerow

Around six o'clock, after it had stopped raining, I walked up the lane in search of wild flowers. It feels as though autumn is coming; I think it's the first time I have arrived at Saturday without having found and posted any wild flower photos, and for the first time I couldn't find any I've not already blipped in the garden. I didn't have to go far though: there was a lovely tangle of honeysuckle, old man's beard and long grass in the hedgerow, the meadow behind the hedge is now full of clover and plantain, and pretty pink striped bindweed was twining daintily round the tall nettles. 

I made myself walk on up to the top of the hill, feeling unreasonably breathless long before the summit. It is a long, steep hill, but yesterday's flat walk along the seafront felt far more tiring than it should have done, and prompted me to promise myself I will prioritise taking the time to walk up the hill far more often. The combined challenges of J's  increasing care needs and the summer garden produce which, once grown, needs to be harvested, prepared and frozen or preserved, have left me feeling I can't spare the time for solitary walks, but I clearly need the exercise, and will enjoy the slightly more varied photo opportunities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.