JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 234: late summer landscape

This afternoon I went to photograph fruit in the orchard. P was picking apples, so I didn't want to miss the opportunity to photograph them on the trees. Most of them are not ripe, but we've arrived at the point in August where the jackdaws which live in the Avenue start to peck holes in them and pull them off the trees. We will spread out the undamaged ones and hope they ripen a bit more, and I will cut up the pecked and tiny ones to make jelly and/or cordial. Unusually, we don't have many blackberries yet, though there are lots of tiny ones up the hill if I had time; but there are still blackcurrants to pick, and raspberries if I can fight my way through the nettles, so I can make up some kind of late summer jelly mix.

The apple photos were not bad, but I like the landscape better. It's my view again, already shared many times, but I love observing and recording its changing colours. These dark greens and light browns are very much its late summer and early autumn palette, with trees and hedgerows in full, deep leaf and the large field already cleared, ploughed and attracting a flock of seagulls. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.