Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Taking a Bird for a ride!

During my time spent in Guyana, one thing has intrigued me. I kept seeing people walking around with small bird cages, complete with birds. They often just seemed to be out for a stroll, but it seemed strange that they were carrying these bird cages. Were they taking the birds to a market to sell, or were they simplying walking their birds?

I asked my driver one day about it and it appears that they are song birds, and there are often singing competitions, and people will either be taking their birds to show them off or enter a sing off, or they will be simply taking them for a walk, just like you would do with your faithful dog.

This morning while I was waiting for a taxi this guy cycled past me with his bird cage, so these birds were being taken for a ride rather than a walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.