Elegg

By Happyme

True brits!

It has been a dull wet day today but it didn't dampen the neighbour's spirits! Number 2 and number 5 had pre-arranged a BBQ and paddle boarding afternoon on the quarry water below our houses. The footprint of our gardens extends to across the quarry and a few yards beyond. We don't own that part but it's part of some agreement way back apparently. There's no way that we would use it but it's great to see that others are making the most of it. This photo is zoomed in, hence not very clear, but the quarry is 60 feet to the water and another 120 feet to the bottom! This photo is taken from the very bottom of our actual garden, where our hens live. They were all having a great time and I even got a wave from Les at one point which I think was pretty brave as it was his first time on the board! Such a shame the rain interrupted the BBQ but they didn't seem to mind!
I spent most of the day continuing with my sewing alterations which are now almost complete. 
I took Reg a walk round the village, in the rain, which actually although a nuisance wasn't that unpleasant. Unfortunately it was interrupted by a phone call from my nephew who couldn't get my mum on the phone so there was a bit of frantic "is she ok?" phoning going on, during which I found out she had been in pain with her back earlier in the day. As I also couldn't get her to answer I contacted the carers and asked if someone could go and check on her in case she had fallen. They did immediately and called me back to say that she was ok and that they would keep an eye on her pain over the weekend and contact the doctor if need be. The care where she lives is absolutely first class and I can't praise them enough. I spoke to mum after and again early evening and she said she was feeling a bit better. I know I maybe shouldn't worry so much as she does have a pendant to use if she needs help. I also know she will only use that as a last resort! I'm looking forward to spending a couple of days with her next week and I think she is too. Hopefully I will be able to see for myself, face to face, how well she is coping with everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.