I confess - this is from last night and was ousted by the plane.

I went to an excellent outdoor performance of Comedy of Errors performed by young people. I now regret missing all of DIY theatre's past performances and I won't miss any in future - what a breathtakingly talented bunch of youngsters! Their own short ad-libbed additions to the text were desperately funny. The period-appropriate live music, from the tent on the right, was written by two of the young people. I have no idea how they've pulled this together - three weeks ago they were performing Oliver! .

It's an absolutely absurd play (Shakespeare did the twins idea much better in Twelfth Night) but they totally held the attention of the audience.

The producer, Mel Houldershaw, who also leads the choir I sing in, will be taking this to Bonn next year, as she's taken many of their previous performances and lots of ours too. She has the energy and enthusiasm of ten normal people, transforms lives and seeks no reward other than the fun of being involved and enabling others: the very best sort of human being.

It will be on YouTube soon - I'll post a link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.