To fill in the gaps on my 17 August blip: that morning the solicitor for whom I'd left two one-star reviews sent me a Cease and Desist notice headed (to my amusement) 'Defemation'.

It was a long letter, concluding with:
We require the following:
a. With immediate effect, the removal of all comments made by you about this firm online.
b. An undertaking from you agreeing not to leave any comments on the internet about this firm, either using your formal name or an alias or from a different IP address.
c. An undertaking from you not to divulge to any third party communication from this firm, without the written consent of this firm.

Failing this, we have no option but to seek remedy under defamation law and seek damages based on a daily loss for damages to our national reputation (this is not limited) and a Cost Order for our legal fees and interest in this regard.


I deleted my one-star review on TrustPilot to give myself time to think about what I should do next (and told them so, but I did not agree to points b and c), I discovered that my review on reviewsolicitors had already vanished then I got on with enjoying my time in London.

Now I have posted a replacement one-star review on Trustpilot and I have informed Trustpilot's whistleblowing team that I was threatened with being sued for defamation after I posted the previous version on 16 August. I have contacted reviewsolicitors to ask how my review disappeared (though having read on Trustpilot the ?defamatory comment that they charge solicitors £300 a month to remove negative reviews I am not expecting an answer). I have contacted the people who referred me to the firm to let them know what is going on.

Now I await developments...

(Silence over the next few days does not necessarily mean I have been annihilated.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.