Dereliction

………………..being taken back and camouflaged by nature.

My first singles night out nearly didn’t happen yesterday…the car was loaded ready to go, I was ready…just washing the pots from lunch when there was a sort of bang and the car (parked in front of the kitchen window) rocked once from side to side as though something had hit it. I went out checked the blown up air bed hadn’t exploded in the back and the tyres were ok…everything seemed fine. Jumped into the car ready to go and there was no way it was going to go anywhere. Luckily I’ve got Volvo roadside assist and it wasn’t too long before someone arrived…the news wasn’t good though as a spring had gone in my front shock absorbers. So glad this hadn’t happened on my way home on Thursday at 70mph on the dual carriageway…or indeed once I was on the road yesterday in the pouring rain! The car will be picked up in the morning and taken to the garage.

MC came to my rescue and taxied me to the party then picked me up again before he went to bed…a very funny case of role reversal and yes I was quizzed on the way home about how much I’d had to drink and who I’d been with!! I had a lovely time catching up with three of my old school friends…great music, lovely food and the best company although the weather was lousy for most of the afternoon and evening. We’ve decided collectively to have a big celebration next year for our 61st birthdays to compensate for most of us not being able to do much for our 60ths. On arriving home I found two huge slugs wandering around the house…I’ve no idea how they got in or where they’d been hiding but they were very quickly evicted!

Today has been a quiet day at home…a general tidy up and I sorted some of the boxes I brought down last week. Off for an evening stroll now.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.