Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Vintage

No, not me, but the Cheese & Wine bar I went to tonight with this lovely group of ladies... The Magnificent 7 (+1). Well, 2 I guess as G joined us. 3 of our group couldn't make it due to 1. travelling to Lisbon, 2. celebrating Norouz (Iranian New Year) and 3. going down with a bad cold! We missed them, but still had a very happy and relaxed evening.

Today has been non-stop. First off, a trip to Pauline's workplace as she wanted papers from home. There is a lady there who could help with my visa application. Then had to get a birthday present before meeting up with a friend for lunch. As it was close to the beach, we stopped by there. It's been totally overcast and very warm, but at the beach at 4pm, the temperature had dropped significantly and there was a cool (even cold) breeze.

Then back home to get ready for the evening. Pauline visited which was very nice. I have had so many texts, calls and now I see - FB messages - I shall have to spend some time tomorrow replying back!

Here are some facts about the 21st of March... (most of these from memory)

- First day of Spring (??!!) UK blippers are indicating it doesn't feel like it at all.
- Mother's Day in the Arab World. All 3 of us ladies got a pink rose at the restaurant where we had lunch
- 1857 Tokyo earthquake had more than 100,000 casualties
- 1935 Incubator ambulance service started in Chicago
- 1685 Johann Sebastian Bach was born
- 1968 I was born!

I guess in human terms I'm not quite vintage but if I were a wine I would be, and like a good wine, my aim is to get better with age! Here's hoping.

Till tomorrow... when I catch up with all of you; apologies for being a day late. Thank you SO MUCH for all your comments re yesterday's bad news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.