The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Streets of New York

Over the past 5 years, my car trips into New York City have grown in frequency. On my second child to go to New York University for college, these trips take me to the lower sides of Manhattan.

At one time, NYC streets were paved in cobblestones and Belgian bricks. Most of them are covered up with asphalt, but West 17th Street, between 11th and 12th Avenues, is still from the 1800's.

I learned today that as of the year 2000, NYC no longer maintains these brick streets, which is why this one is such a mess.

I could choose other streets to return onto the West Side Highway, but this particular street makes me feel the energy of Old New York.

My car tires may not be pleased, but I don't mind. Experiencing a bit of history is more important. I love every bumpy inch of road.

After all, who knows who may have traveled this road on a horse, or in a carriage?

What a marvel New York City must have been in those days, as the VIctorian era gave way to Industrialism, and the City That Never Sleeps was born.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.