The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Meatless Friday

My mom was raised as an Orthodox Russian, and ate fish EVERY day during Lent. She loved pickled herring, but drew the line on the fish obsession when she got married to my father, an Armenian Christian.

Although Lent was never a big deal in our home, we did eat a meatless meal on Fridays. I have mostly kept that tradition, slipping every now and then over the years.

I am fortunate that 3 out of 4 family members enjoy vegetables, as well as chick peas, so this dish was a perfect Friday meal.

Full of North African spices and amazing flavor, I owe the knowledge of this dish to my good friend, Sj Heckscher, who sent me "River Cottage Veg Everyday!" Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall is a TV Chef in the UK, and this group of recipes is one of the best meatless cookbooks I have ever owned.

Here's a link to the recipe I adapted. The only thing I changed was to add a 12 oz. package of whole mushrooms with the squash, garlic, and shallots. It added a meaty texture to the mix. Roasted Squash with Merguez Chickpeas

My home still has the exotic smells of Morocco wafting though it, our tummies are satisfied, and we are full of love.

I'll take a pass on the pickled herring.

This is NOT my mother's Lenten meal.

Please pass the Riesling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.