The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Kleindeutschland Revisited

My daughter lives on East 3rd St. in lower Manhattan, New York City, U.S.A., a few doors east of the Church of the Most Holy Redeemer, circa 1852. It is a Catholic Church, built for German immigrants who once resided in this section of the East Village, formerly known as "Little Germany."

It is a massive structure, and because I am fascinated by churches, I could not help but go inside, sit, and marvel at its ornate wonder. My daughter said that it reminded her of cathedrals she saw in Italy and France, and that she wished that they would have the doors opened more often.

Today, I learned that the reason that security is so tight here is because it contains the relics of Jesus' manger, the pillar where he was scourged, the true cross, the girdle of the Virgin Mary, the mantle of St. Joseph, and the complete remains of the very first saint, St. Datian.

I did not know this when I visited Holy Redeemer in the past, but it explains the incredible feelings that I felt vibrating in my bones as I kneeled there and prayed.

I am not a Catholic, but respect and appreciate the Catholic Church, and will miss visiting this beautiful place when my daughter moves at the end of June.

My mom was a great believer and prayed every day. It is something that I am glad she taught me to do.

On second thought, I think I will visit Holy Redeemer, regardless of where my daughter lives. It's that beautiful and fills my heart with love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.