Marionb

By Marionb

The Early Morning Hour...

.....always my favourite.  

It is my quiet time; the outside world with all its demands has not yet intruded. At home, I spend it with a cup of coffee, my cat and maybe a good book. Sometimes I roam around the garden checking for new blooms, listening to the birds. If I am feeling spry, I will go down to the lake and watch the sunrise.

Here at the cottage, I don't have to go far to watch the sunrise! I love to take my coffee down to the dock, sit quietly and just watch the morning happen. Mother nature sure puts on a great light show up here!  Each sunrise is unique..some are more spectacular than others, but each is worthy of an audience.

What is special here is that the early morning hour is SO quiet.. boats have not started going by yet, no-one has a radio blaring;  there are no traffic noises or sirens...no dogs barking...just the lapping of the water, the splash of a fish jumping, a variety of birdsong, maybe the call of the loon, the tap-tap-tap of a wood pecker, or the buzz of the hummingbirds zipping about. Often there is not even a breeze in the trees and the water is so calm that it is like glass, reflecting all the glory around it ...

When mornings like that happen, I get the urge to photograph everything in sight, lest I forget just how lovely things were..hence a lot of sunrise blips! And yes, here today, is another one! 

It was extremely hot and humid again today..another day for lounging about. The only activity I had that required any energy at all was taking the canoe out for a gentle tour around our back bay....nothing exciting...just some quiet time on the water...with a paddle. No wildlife to report - no deer swimming by, no beaver slapping his tail, no turtles lounging on fallen trees, and no bears... but I did have my camera with me just in case!  Not many waterlilies still blooming, and not much pickerel weed left, but I noted that there are some new wild flowers I could perhaps try to photograph one of these mornings, you know, for a blip...one that is not a sunrise.  

It is dark now; the moon should be rising over the island in front of us any minute..at least I hope it will. It was so hot last night that around 11:00,  I went down to the dock to cool off before bed and went in for a swim -  under a magnificent full moon...it was magical....I would love to do that again tonight...

Hmmmm...Maybe the Late Evening Hour has something wonderful to offer too? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.