a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A sudden change of direction

MonoMonday: Street Scene

I had two shots for today's Mono Monday, and while the main is definitely the better shot (from my perspective) I liked the extra too, so I have given it to you as well (you lucky things).  I am calling the extra "Sassy and Boo" - you will be able to see why.

When I saw the challenge today my heart sank initially, as it was such a grey overcast day.  However, a check on the ClearOutside App indicated that the cloud cover would lift in the early evening.  With that in mind, I went into Bath this evening at about 6:30pm when I knew that there would still be some low sunshine casting patches of light and strong shadow.

For the main I managed to find a narrow patch of light that allowed people to be illuminated briefly against a shadowed background, and then I waited for someone interesting to walk into it.  This chap is by a long shot the most interesting.  He was having quite an expressive conversation with someone on his phone and moved into the light.  He was only in the light for a few seconds.  I love the shape of his body - as you can see from his feet, he has literally just stopped whipped around and started back the way he came.  This is why his hair has swung out for the strong shadow.

I am absurdly pleased with this shot as although I had planned and prepared for it ultimately fate came along and delivered it to me.

By the time that I took the extra the sun was a fair bit lower and the opportunities for the spotlight effect had passed.  However, while I was lining up on Bartlett Street in the hope that something interesting would happen, I was spotted by these 3, who spontaneously decided to perform for (and good naturedly tease) the photographer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.