Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Checking out the goods

Although I had a lot of options today, it had to be a hummer.  For starters, there are a lot of them buzzing around right now - in fact, I had one spend a good minute circling very close to my head and eventually hovering so close to my face that I had a hard time getting my eyes to focus.  It's always fun when they do that.  And I liked this shot because I find it's harder to catch them in focus from this angle. This is a young male - although he hasn't sprouted any red feathers yet, you can see his "five o'clock shadow".  

I was able to get a shot of a Great Black Digger Wasp in the garden today - they are slightly larger than the Great Golden DIggers which makes them a very formidable looking creature.  But like the goldens, they are gentle and completely non-aggressive.  I am hoping to get a better shot, maybe tomorrow.  I also found a new fly species which was fun.  It's a very tricked-out fly and worth having a look HERE on Flickr

I have four caterpillars getting ready to pupate into their chrysalis form and when I ran out to get milkweed this morning, I came home with a couple of eggs on the plants I snipped for cat-food.  Then, when I was pottering outside, I watched a monarch leaving eggs all over my remaining swamp and butterfly milkweed so gathered some of those up too.  I never really have a plan as to how many monarchs I want to raise - it all just sort of happens.  I am keeping a list of requests for release dedications, so feel free to drop me a note in comments if you want me to remember a loved one with a butterfly release.  I do try to match genders whenever possible, but no guarantees.  I'll do my best.

Hubs has my car today (a rare week where he has to be in the office for a few days) and again tomorrow so I'm on lockdown at home.  Not exactly a hardship as there is so much going on out in the garden right now.  

Dark with ginger today.  

Be safe, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.