Lockdown

Tuesday 24th August 2021

The significance of this picture is that, over the weekend, I completed my lockdown photobook which I started at the beginning of the pandemic. I kept setting dates when it was going to end and then something else came up ie second and third lockdowns. I was going to then end at 100 pages, end on 21st June, really end on 19th July etc. I wrote an epilogue on 19th July but then other significant things seemed to need mentioning so I added a further postscript. This weekend I brought it to a close with the group photos from our Zoom meet up last Monday. It finally felt as if it was willing to be complete. I transferred it all onto the publishing site but realised I didn't have an appropriate photo for the front cover. Today I took this closed church door as a way of expressing lockdown. Now the photobook is with the printers and I can't add any more pages (finished at 110). 

A week last Friday I ordered another photobook, from the workshop I led last year. I was surprised it hadn't arrived. Last night I decided to check emails and found a tracking number. At least that would give me an idea when it would arrive. I was rather surprised to find that it said it was delivered on 19th. They also had evidence as they took a photo of the location where they left it. I was able to track it down. They had put it by my side fence behind a bin where it couldn't be seen. Unfortunately they didn't leave me a card or send an email to tell me so I didn't know it was there. It has been outside in the rain for four days! The pages are damp and a little crinkled. I'm not happy with the delivery company.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.