JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 236: Gazania

I love gazanias. They come in so many wonderful colour combinations. I particularly like these pink striped petals and the chocolate brown scallops round the edge of the golden centre. My nonagenarian neighbour C has several pots of them in many colours on the paved area outside his conservatory, and they were basking in the sun when I went over for our Tuesday coffee this morning. It doesn't really fit today's "man-made" them for Tiny Tuesday, though I expect some good selective breeding helped produce those colours, but the extra is a small (though not really tiny) woman-made project I stitched this afternoon. P wanted a little pouch to protect his pockets from his rather large bunch of keys, so I found a small scrap of robust double-layer upholstery fabric just large enough to cut to shape. I'm pleased with the French seams, which keep the inside neat and prevent fraying, and pleased that my forty year old portable sewing machine coped with several layers of the thick fabric without faltering or breaking the needle. It's good to have found a use for the fabric too, which is one of several small samples of attractive high quality furnishing fabric scavenged from a bin by J during one of the periodic clear-outs at her care centre. She pointed them out to me when I came to collect her and asked if we could take them home for some as yet undefined project. I was amused to find her so much her mother's daughter and my father's granddaughter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.