The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Just a Shell

... of his former self.

Yesterday when we first saw this Annual Cicada on the front lawn he (she?) was on his last legs, barely moving when I gently poked at him. Today when I found him in the same spot there was no response at all, he had played his part in the circle of life.

I've seen other shells left behind but never one that so clearly showed the details of the body segments or that had the delicate wings still intact. I guess that even at my age (older than dirt) there's still room to learn something new.

Thanks for all the support and well wishes folks. I'm in the process of contacting my health insurance and the urologist who will remove the stent (and stone if it's still there) to schedule the procedure. Should be no big deal but all the bits and pieces have to be in place and not being home to get medical clearance from my primary care doc makes it all a bit harder (general anesthesia is involved). Oh well, nobody said the adventure wouldn't have its share of detours (and paperwork). At least it continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.