Temps Perdu

I have removed myself from home again. I have come to Glasgow this time.

It is another place (like Aberdeen last week) with memories jumping out at me from every corner. I lived here for 17 years. I got married here. Junior was born here. 

Like Aberdeen, for me it is now a mixture of the old and familiar, with the new and strange. This was exemplified by my arrival at Queen Street Station. I used it twice a day during the working week for about 3 years. Familiar. It has just emerged from a major renovation project. New. 

The day brought plenty positives without me having to make much effort. This was a relief after yesterday. 

I used an electronic ticket on the new ScotRail app for the first time. It worked! The train was on schedule too! (Yes, I know I have jinxed the return journey tomorrow.)

I am staying in an Apex Hotel for the first time. So far, so good. I got a last minute deal late last night. 

The weather is gorgeous - in fact too nice to be on a city centre escape. I should be by the sea or up a hill. I am not complaining obviously. It is unusual to have such good weather here at the end of August.

Dinner was very positive indeed. A pizza, tiramisu, espresso, a glass of red and wee grappa. It hit the spot. 

Après dinner was positive too. I had a quick beer in Nico’s. It may be the first time I have been there since 1989, but not much has changed. I was 40 years older than anyone else, but what the hell. 

Then I wondered if the Baby Grand is still there. Yup, and another quick beer. In a city where pubs come and go like fashion statements, I was amazed. 

A wine, a grappa and a couple of beers provide a bit of resilience against those memories which seem to cut you off at the knees. 

The Blip is the Beresford. It is a long story. The Extras are various events along the way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.