Grey

What a day. 

I have managed to stand still, but it was hard work. 

First thing I was at a site meeting in Kinghorn, to see some damage caused by the thunderstorms 2 weeks ago. As well as water cascading down their street to flood their homes, the roadway itself has been destroyed by the drain beneath it which could not cope with the volume of water. 

The residents are struggling to get the flood damage repaired as tradesmen cannot get access. That road is also the access to the lifeboat station. 

The drain is the responsibility of one organisation, and the street is another's. A complication we could do without. The street can be repaired relatively quickly, but the drain needs to be upgraded. 

I was just there as minder for the Manager, to provide moral support if things turned difficult. I puffed out my chest, tried to look scary, and hoped no-one would notice I'm too old for that kind of thing. 

I believe the drainage is expected to deal with once-in-30-year rainfall events but what we had the other week in some places around here was a once-in-600-years event.  

While waiting for things to kick off, so to speak, I got my Blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.