Sunshine

Another (work) week has gone. Another month too, almost.

I was in the Office, mostly, with a short escape to the Goth's house to drop off some work for her. 

I had two members of the public trying to force their way in today, after carefully reading the “closed” notice on the front door. The notice has been upgraded, with a request to people not to ask staff to open the door. 

It’s a puzzle. If I were to arrive at a restaurant or a shop in the middle of a pandemic, and found a “we are closed” sign, would I try to get in anyway? I must be missing something. 

On a much more positive note, I gave some advice yesterday to someone who phoned about her neighbour. His front door had been broken by the police when they had to force entry to check on his welfare. He is vulnerable and has a history of mental health issues. How could she help him get it repaired (he has no money)? 

Today she phoned to tell me it is all fixed, thanks to the advice I gave her. 

I mention it firstly because we come across so many problems caused by ar*ehole neighbours, it is a bit of a shock to encounter a good one. Secondly, it is so rare to be told about a positive outcome and be thanked for helping. 

Also being positive, a new supply of 6 bottles of Georgian wine arrived this evening to brighten up the weather-imposed gloom. You may notice there are 7 bottles. Delivery was delayed, so they gave me an extra bottle. Very Georgian.   

The Extra just illustrates the bleak weather. It would be bleak in October never mind August.

Time to relax now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.