Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Gee’s Bend quilts

It’s pretty gloomy in this part of the world today and I’ve been thinking about a wonderfully colourful exhibition I went to this time last year at Turner Contemporary in Margate. The main attraction for me and my companion were the Gee’s Bend quilts, which did not disappoint. We Will Walk - Art and Resistance in the American South featured African American artists and quilters who lived or still live in this small corner of the USA. Their work is energising, intriguing and, most of all, inspiring in how freely the designs were made. None of the edges are square and the blocks are completely different to anything I’d seen before. This one was my favourite but in truth I could live with any one of them.
https://turnercontemporary.org/whats-on/we-will-walk/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.