Last adventure....

Before school starts. Today, Dan and I rode the mail boat out to Isle au Haut. We left from the town of Stonington and it's about an hour ride on the boat. My blip is actually of Stonington as we were coming back in tonight. It's such a picturesque little town.
We were dropped off at Duck Harbor and did about 6 1/2 miles of hiking. This area is national park and part of Acadia National Park. It is so beautiful, it was also really hot today and the mosquitoes were absolutely fierce. I wasn't expecting that. My first extra is a marshy area that gave me my first clue on the mosquitoes.... they were bad even when we weren't by standing water though. The coastal parts were stunning. It was a little odd and stressful to be on a timetable (the boat was coming back at 4 to get us) and not really know how long it was going to take us. We were back with an hour to spare, thankfully. Though I couldn't really relax in the shade because of.... well you can guess...
I think trying this in the fall when it's cooler and less buggy would be the ticket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.