A Day with the Grands

It was a murky day, mostly...but livened up considerably by the two grandchildren. This is the last Thursday that I'll take care of both of them while their parents work. My granddaughter starts 2nd grade next Wednesday, so I'll just have the almost 4 year old, unless of course she's on vacation. We're trying to find a pre-school, but it's incredibly difficult, primarily because it's so expensive...way too expensive for my son and his wife - she's in school and his salary is low for a family of four, but no where near low enough to qualify for any assistance. It's a difficult vicious circle. 

But we had fun! I have a Weeping Atlas Blue Cedar that I keep in tight control - it's an original planting when the neighborhood was built in the early 70's and it would take over the garden if I let it. It's a funny horizontally growing tree. It has a natural hollow under it's arching branches, so the kids and I pruned it and cleaned it up and made  "tree house" where they could put their outside chairs in and hide from the world! 

Later, after I dropped them off, we had a rain shower. I used my iPhone to find this bee seeking cover in the cosmos. He tucked himself under a petal in the extra to stay dry ;-)

Hope you've had as much fun as I have had today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.