This Aint Right

Well I had the same job as yesterday starting just after 3 am this morning with a trip round the Edinburgh suburban circle then empty to Dunbar then a passenger service to Glasgow and back and this shot is in Glasgow and caused me some consternation as I was sitting having a sip of my tea before departing and not looking out the window at the time I heard the whistles blowing to let the passengers know that the train would be dispatching soon then I looked up to see this view and quickly jumped out my cab before the platform staff blew the whistles again to dispatch the train and I called the guy over to tell him I would be contacting the signaller as the intermediate signal in the platform was still red whilst the one at the end of the platform was green and the off indicator in rear of the red signal was showing off well that ain't right and I'm no moving till I find out the problem as if the platform staff had tried to dispatch me on a red it had the potential to cause a (SPAD) Signal Passed At Danger which I would have been in trouble as well as the platform staff and Train Manager TM I had wondered why one of the platform staff had been looking at the track in front of my train 15 minutes before we had left as they had been told by the signal centre the track circuit was showing occupied between the intermediate and platform end signals now normally it is a straightforward situation to deal with but on this occasion and a major bug bear of mine is lack of communication and has been all my years in the railway as the signal centre never informed me as to what signal sequence I would be leaving platform 2 on so if I hadn't jumped out my cab to stop the platform staff trying to dispatch me they would have been in the shit for that and if I had just moved off then I would have been in shit also so they knew they had a problem but know one bothered to tell the driver (me) WTF was going on so it just goes to show a little communication could have helped with the situation if they had told me earlier rather than the potential for a driver running the risk of running a red signal which is a major no no or as my bosses would say Tea and Biscuits in my Office NOW Youngie ya Arsehole and thankfully I have never had one in almost 24 years but the time I got back and showed my gaffers the photo and wrote reports and made calls to all the relevant people it was an hour and a half after my finishing time and had it all been done correctly at the time it would have taken around one minute for me to get permission from the signaller to pass that one at danger and obey all other signals which is the normal procedure and done lots of times daily around the rail network but when not done properly can cause problems when no communication is delivered to the right people but all was well in the end and nobody got hurt or into bother for trying to dispatch the train on a red thanks to my huge leap out the cab door waving my arms around like a loony well no a huge leap just stepped down on the platform but then again I don't do modesty easily lol movie for the day has to be "The Signal 2007" now that was a long sentence right Youngie stop boaglin on and let people eat there dinner

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.