The second half of life..

By twigs

[Not] Singing in the Rain

A full on day of doing nothing, going nowhere and and achieving nothing......well, very little.

Rain from go to whoa, much time spent heat-treating my sore butt/sciatic nerve and feeling sorry for myself and to top it all off, we found out at 3.00pm that Jacinda is holding us in full lockdown until midnight Tuesday.  I can't say I'm surprised and neither can I say I'm disappointed.  If there's one thing we've learned about our PM and this pandemic it's that she is not a risk taker (I say 'she' but of course, it's a cabinet decision, not just one person).  I totally get their reluctance to jeopardise the efforts and sacrifices that have been made so far by risking one bad decision.  Yes, we'd all love to be out and about enjoying some spring sunshine but let's just hang on for a wee while longer.  There's no sunshine to rush out for anyway!   Whilst the whole country from the south Auckland boundary south will hopefully be dropped to Level 3 on Wednesday, we now know that everyone north of of that boundary is likely to be subject to another fortnight of full lockdown, to give the 'numbers' a real chance to drop.  We had 70 new cases today so it seems that maybe - just maybe - the numbers are plateauing.  Another couple of weeks could make a massive difference.  And at the end of the day, nothing anyone has endured in New Zealand during the pandemic comes within coo-ee of what many, many millions of others have endured around the world. 

OK - back to the fire, the Paralympics and another hot bean bag draped across my nether regions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.