Silhouette

I continue to do my homework for the wildlife photo course I'm doing (this week on different sorts of light). There's been plenty of opportunity for overcast light (and indeed for mist) but I continue to be moderately frustrated by the lack of sunshine to get side-lit, backlit or front-lit photos! The homework is supposed to be in today but "teacher" did say that Saturday is OK if we're pushed (the next webinar is on Sunday morning). There's sun forecast for tomorrow so I may be lucky, but so far this week the forecasts of sun have been overly optimistic.

Today however I decided that I could at least do a silhouette indoors - and lo and behold there was a housefly on a windowledge just asking to be photographed - so why not use it for today's blip as well as for my homework? So this is a focus-stacked macro using greaseproof paper stuck to the window behind to give diffused light.

Of course as you'll have guessed, this particular fly had already gone to meet its maker. So does it count as "wildlife" if it's dead...?! At least unlike its nearby colleague (also deceased) as it succumbed with its wings unfolded and its legs straight so it stood nicely to attention for its portrait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.