Late sunshine

I'm glad that the Oban Games was yesterday! Today has been dull and cool, with a plain white sky and mist over the hills. It's only in the last hour or so that the sun came through and it's now a beautiful evening.

I had a Photo Club committee meeting this afternoon and we spent a long time chatting - we'd not met for quite some time. We're hoping to start meeting again in October, but there are obviously quite a few COVID based things we have to sort out before we begin!

I hadn't long been home, without a Blip, so I rushed out into the garden to find a flower to photograph and landed upon this one, one of my favourites. I've Blipped it before, probably this time last year, but no sooner had I lifted the pot into the sunshine then the phone rang! I've just spent the last hour talking to a dear old lady who lives in Henley, and who grew up in the house next door to my grandfather's family and so had known him all her life. She and her husband ran a grocer's shop in Henley. I'd been to visit them on a couple of occasions, the last being a couple of years ago. Sadly her husband died last year, but she's a sprightly lady of 84 and we had a lovely chat. I told her that she sounds more  like 34 - and she does! I'm looking forward to seeing her again the next time I go south.

This plant is Bomarea edulis, a climber from Mexico into tropical South America. It seems quite hardy here, having sat on the deck in a pot for the last 5 years! I split it last year and now have two, and judging from the number of shoots in each pot needs to be split again! Anyone want a bit?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.