Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

En Garde!

The hummer wars in the garden right now are epic.  They are also very difficult to catch on camera, at least for me.  This is a young female who had been feeding on some flowers in a pot on the patio when another hummer zoomed in, causing her to adopt a defensive posture with tail splayed.  In the next second, she was off in hot pursuit of the rival, joined by two other hummers.  Another shot HERE on Flickr showing her just puling back from the flower.  

When I shot these images, thunder storms were moving into the area and the light was broody and lovely, so editing was a breeze since almost nothing had to be done.  I love this kind of light.

I had planned to head out with my kayak this morning - got it loaded onto the car, got my gear stowed, jumped in the car, turned the kay...and nothing.  It turned over once and then firmly refused to start.  Hubs later charged it but something is definitely funky with the battery so I guess we will take it into the shop next week.  Have to wait for my SIL to get her car out of the shop as she is using Hubs Mercedes in the interim.  Luckily, there is plenty going on in the yard today so I've been fully occupied.

I released four monarchs today - for my husband's brother, father and his father's 2 siblings.  He helped me with the releases, and I imagine he sent a few private thoughts along with the butterflies as we sent them on their way.  More coming.  I'm keeping a list of requests and expect to be able to fulfil them all.

Meanwhile in Afghanistan... just awful.  And when the "lucky" Afghanis who are able to be evacuated to the US arrive here, they will be housed in Army installations and tents for months before papers can be processed, background checks done, etc.  And I don't imagine it will be much different in the various other countries who are opening their doors to accept refugees.  I wish I knew a better solution.  I wish there was something I could do.

On a brighter note, we received word today that Hubs and I are both being scheduled for our Pfizer boosters in September at MIL's care facility.  They will be holding multiple vaccine clinics for staff, residents and families - what a blessing.  The facility is still on lockdown while they complete another round of PCR tests.  She's doing fine, although she doesn't understand what is going on - but maybe that is a blessing too.

Dark with dried cherries today.  And stay safe, please.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.