Marsupium Photography

By magi

radical road closed

WFH.

Went for a walk up Arthur's Seat after work. The Southern start of the Radical Road sports a new fence with gate. It's been closed for years now. Historic Scotland seem to be in the fence building business now, with reports of St Anthony's Chapel being fenced off (loose masonry), bits of Craigmillar Castle fenced off (loose masonry), Rothesay Castle closed (loose masonry) and I suppose the Innocent Railway Tunnel and the path beyond closed (falling rocks - I was speculating if Samson's Ribs were in danger of falling down). I guess it is quite a big ask to maintain all these ruins and cliffs. 

I really enjoyed the walk up Arthur's Seat with changing views of the Crags and town beyond (see extra). The summit was reasonably busy. I overheard a wee boy ask his parents whether that was South, pointing at Leith and towards Fife. I couldn't resist asking why he thought it was South. It is such a common point of confusion. Why does intuition suggest that the Forth should be South of Edinburgh? I really don't get it.  I now know but it still feels odd. I didn't get an answer but had a nice chat.

More pictures from today on flickr.

Update: I don't seem to be the only one who is annoyed by this. Here is a thoughtful article on the issue of the Radical Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.