JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 239: Creeping Thistle

It's been a busy day - on Fridays J has online activities and only me to support her, and after yesterday's hospital outing she wasn't very well prepared and needed some last minute help gearing up for her journaling workshop and the themed watch party she and a fellow film buff organise for the group. Alongside this, she's watching Oxford Short Film Festival online, mainly because they are screening her 2019 BBC Ideas animation but it's also a good opportunity to watch lots of interesting short films (free all weekend if anyone is interested), and she's also trying to keep track of some of the Paralympic events, particularly the boccia in which a friend and fellow AAC user will be competing. 

All this, along with a couple of urgent emails and phone calls and a few domestic essentials, meant it was again teatime before I got outside with the camera. I walked up the lane again, to the top of the hill, and after Wednesday's wide shots, today I took the 55-250 lens to focus on flowers. I think the main shot is a creeping thistle (Cirsium Arvense), though the pictures in my book look rather pinker than my mauve specimen. I haven't tried to identify the fly and hoverfly. The extra shows two very unloved plants, tall nettles with small pink striped bindweed flowers entwining them. Here in the hedge, the bindweed is dainty and pretty, though I wish it had not colonised my fruit bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.