BONJOUR

At 11 o'clock this morning I had a rather exiting zoom meeting.

As I've mentioned in previous blips I recently enrolled in a photocourse by Serge Ramelli, a well known photographer from Paris.
I'm now well on my way in the course and have sent in some assignments already, which all came back with positive reactions from Serge. All "amazing, awesome and kind'a cool!"

Last Monday I received another mail from him. He thought it would be a good idea to have a 1 to 1 chat soon, to meet and talk about my photography. And about things I wanted to improve, problems I encounter.

After a reply and a few clicks an appointment was made and today 11 am was thé moment.
At 10.00 a message came in: Be ready for the chat in 1 hour Ton!
At 10.50 another message: 10 minutes Ton!

And at 11.00 I was sitting behind the screen waiting for the host to start the meeting. Nothing..... 
....until 11.05 when suddenly he popped up on my screen with a loud BONJOUR TOM.

What followed was a nice talk about photography and he gave me the impression he really liked my photos. The conclusion was that I do not have problems with photography, I know my drills, but my challenges are way more on the marketing and selling end. Creating a style and an audience and even more important: getting my work out there.

Of course Serge has a solution for that too, and he is now going to introduce me to an american who knows all about marketing for photographers and getting them into galleries all over the world.

I like the idea of course, but hey, I'm just a dutch guy from the Low Lands somewhere in Europe, who is going to be interested?? I really can't believe that. I told Serge about that and he laughed about it. 'You have to think globally my boy!! There's a world waiting for your photos, but they don't know it yet. We're gonna tell them!! You'll be amazed!!' 

That made me laugh and I told him that I might me a bit too much 'down to earth' for that. "Only one way to find out!" Do it, do it, do it!!!!

Anyway, before I knew it, it was almost 11.30 and Serge had to go.
A quick 'Au Revoir and see you in a gallery in New York!' and he was gone, leaving me completely flabbergasted.
I had another coffee first and let it all sink in.

I'm so curious about what will come next.
Should I enroll in this marketing-selling-thing?? I have to put time and energy into it myself and some money too. During 3 months I will be coached to get things on the road.
Enough to think about next weekend!

What would you do? And how much would it be worth it to you?? In other words, how much would you pay to get this thing started? I'm curious, please let me know.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.