Orkney Ferries

Lateral Flow Tests then an exceptional breakfast this morning, including bacon for Flora(!), A two minute drive thereafter to Gills Bay Pier. The crossing to St Margaret's Hope takes just an hour. It was pleasant to sit on the sundeck for most of the time. We did what we always do in St Margaret's Hope which involves, among other activities, coffee at Robertsons. There we had a short but really lovely blip meet with Topsy-turvy (extra).

On to Kirkwall. It was busy but not mobbed. I like Kirkwall as it was my introduction to Orkney all those decades ago. However, I will be very glad to get to Westray, Queen o' the Isles, and be at anchor in Pierowall for the next week. The ferry leaves at 16:20 and gets to Westray at 17:45. From the boat I will phone Pierowall Fish and order two haddock suppers. These will be waiting for us and we will take them to our holiday cottage where the kettle will be on. We will be tucking into our fish about 18:00.

I don't think I'll last much beyond that on account of an awful night of insomnia. Before bed though I'm sure I'll manage to have an evening stroll on the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.